

Legislative Assembly Province of Alberta

No. 52

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

First Session

Thirty-First Legislature

Wednesday, May 15, 2024

The Speaker took the Chair at 1:30 p.m.

Members' Statements

Mr. Long, Hon. Member for West Yellowhead, made a statement regarding recently announced Government funding for the training of teachers for rural and Indigenous communities.

Ms Goehring, Hon. Member for Edmonton-Castle Downs, made a statement regarding several resources available to Albertans who have been evacuated due to wildfires.

Mr. Wright, Hon. Member for Cypress-Medicine Hat, made a statement regarding Canadian Armed Forces Day.

Hon. Ms Ganley, Hon. Member for Calgary-Mountain View, made a statement regarding the importance of courage in confronting misinformation.

Mr. Rowswell, Hon. Member for Vermilion-Lloydminster-Wainwright, made a statement regarding Government action to address potential drought conditions in Alberta.

MLA Batten, Hon. Member for Calgary-Acadia, made a statement regarding a lack of Government action to address several concerns of Albertans.

Tabling Returns and Reports

Hon. Mr. Nally, Minister of Service Alberta and Red Tape Reduction:

Appendix C from a report dated March 30, 2017, entitled "Lions Villages Society of Edmonton, Life Lease Position Paper," containing letters of support for life lease legislation

Sessional Paper 402/2023-24

Hon. Mr. McIver, Minister of Municipal Affairs:

Edmonton Journal website article dated November 4, 2021, entitled "Developers donated at least \$58,349 to Edmonton's incoming city councillors"

Sessional Paper 403/2023-24

ORDERS OF THE DAY

Government Motions

34. Moved by Hon. Mr. Schow:

Be it resolved that the Legislative Assembly concur in the report of the Select Special Ethics Commissioner and Chief Electoral Officer Search Committee and recommend to the Lieutenant Governor in Council that Shawn McLeod be appointed Ethics Commissioner for the Province of Alberta for a five-year term commencing May 26, 2024.

A debate followed.

Mr. Getson moved adjournment of the debate, which was agreed to.

36. Moved by Hon. Mr. Schow:

Be it resolved that when further consideration of Government Motion 34 is resumed, not more than one hour shall be allotted to any further consideration of the motion, at which time every question necessary for the disposal of the motion shall be put forthwith.

Pursuant to Standing Order 21(3), Hon. Mr. Schow and Hon. Mr. Sabir commented on the time allocation motion.

2

The question being put, the motion was agreed to. With Hon. Mr. Cooper in the Chair, the names being called for were taken as follows:

For the motion: 45

Amery	Jones	Sawhney
Armstrong-Homeniuk	LaGrange	Schow
Boitchenko	Loewen	Schulz
Bouchard	Long	Sigurdson (Highwood)
Cyr	Lovely	Sinclair
de Jonge	Lunty	Singh
Dreeshen	McDougall	Smith
Dyck	McIver	Stephan
Ellis	Nally	Turton
Getson	Neudorf	van Dijken
Glubish	Nicolaides	Wiebe
Guthrie	Nixon	Williams
Horner	Petrovic	Wilson
Hunter	Pitt	Wright (Cypress-Medicine Hat)
Johnson	Rowswell	Yaseen
Against the motion: 35		
Al-Guneid	Eremenko	Notley
Arcand-Paul	Goehring	Pancholi
Batten	Gray	Phillips
Boparai	Haji	Renaud
Brar	Hayter	Sabir
Ceci	Hoyle	Schmidt
Chapman	Ip	Shepherd
Dach	Irwin	Sigurdson (Edmonton-Riverview)
Deol	Kasawski	Sweet
Eggen	Kayande	Tejada
Ellingson	Loyola	Wright (Edmonton-Beverly-Clareview)
Elmeligi	Metz	-
-		

34. Moved by Hon. Mr. Schow:

Be it resolved that the Legislative Assembly concur in the report of the Select Special Ethics Commissioner and Chief Electoral Officer Search Committee and recommend to the Lieutenant Governor in Council that Shawn McLeod be appointed Ethics Commissioner for the Province of Alberta for a five-year term commencing May 26, 2024.

A debate followed.

3

Pursuant to Government Motion 36, agreed to on May 15, 2024, and Standing Order 21(1), at 4:44 p.m., the question was immediately put on Government Motion 34, which was agreed to. With Hon. Mr. Cooper in the Chair, the names being called for were taken as follows:

For the motion: 43

Amery Armstrong-Homeniuk Boitchenko Bouchard Cyr Dreeshen Dyck Ellis Getson Glubish Guthrie Horner Hunter	LaGrange Loewen Long Lovely Lunty McDougall McIver Nally Neudorf Nicolaides Nixon Petrovic Pitt	Sawhney Schow Schulz Sigurdson (Highwood) Sinclair Singh Stephan Turton Van Dijken Wiebe Williams Wilson Wright (Cypress-Medicine Hat)
Johnson	Rowswell	Yaseen
Jones		
Against the motion: 35		
Al-Guneid Arcand-Paul Batten Boparai Brar Ceci Chapman Dach Deol Eggen Ellingson Elmeligi	Eremenko Goehring Gray Haji Hayter Hoyle Ip Irwin Kasawski Kayande Loyola Metz	Notley Pancholi Phillips Renaud Sabir Schmidt Shepherd Sigurdson (Edmonton-Riverview) Sweet Tejada Wright (Edmonton-Beverly-Clareview)

Government Bills and Orders

Third Reading

On the motion that the following Bill be now read a Third time:

Bill 16 Red Tape Reduction Statutes Amendment Act, 2024 - Hon. Mr. Nally

A debate followed.

The question being put, the motion was agreed to.



On the motion that the following Bill be now read a Third time:

Bill 19 Utilities Affordability Statutes Amendment Act, 2024 - Hon. Mr. Neudorf

A debate followed.

The question being put, the motion was agreed to.

The following Bills were read a Third time and passed:

Bill 16 Red Tape Reduction Statutes Amendment Act, 2024 — Hon. Mr. Nally

Bill 19 Utilities Affordability Statutes Amendment Act, 2024 - Hon. Mr. Neudorf

Adjournment

On motion by Hon. Mr. Schow, Government House Leader, the Assembly adjourned at 5:59 p.m. until Thursday, May 16, 2024, at 1:30 p.m.

Hon. Nathan M. Cooper, Speaker

Title: Wednesday, May 15, 2024

5